Then & Now: The Legacy of the Gananoque Swing Bridge

Ginette-Guy Mayer

Located over the Gananoque River on Water Street, the bridge was originally built in 1893, as a joint project between the Thousand Islands Railway and the municipality. There was a need at the time to provide better rail access to the industries on the east side of the river. Particularly, the Gananoque Carriage Company (GCC) was, at the time, the largest manufacturer of carriages in the Dominion. The company recognized that direct rail access was crucial for maintaining its dominant market position. They needed more than just to rely on water transportation. A few years earlier, the GCC had received a generous offer to relocate to Brockville. They also had access to the Grand Trunk and Canadian Pacific Railway lines there.

In 1891, Brockville offered a $50,000 incentive for GCC to move there. Gananoque could not match that amount, but the council of the day contributed money for a bridge. Furthermore, the bridge would be for rail, automobiles, and pedestrians with a swing mechanism to allow for watercraft to enter from the mouth of the Gananoque River. A bridge committee was formed that collaborated with the Thousand Islands Railway Company to start work on the project. 

The central pillar would be limestone, as would the east and west supports. The bridge would be riveted-steel, and single lane. The rotating mechanism was a central pin at the centre of gravity. It would rotate ninety degrees. 

After the bridge opened, the GCC began its move to Brockville in 1891, and the project was completed in 1894. Due to low traffic, the railway removed the tracks in 1913. Over time, the swing mechanism rusted, seizing in the closed position. By the late 1980s, the Coast Guard, which had jurisdiction over the bridges, was asking for a solution to the navigational problem. It had been a major headache for river business and marina operators wishing to take in larger boats. Engineers were asked to look at the problem. 

The town’s council again sought grants to help with the funding, and the Coast Guard approved the plan. The work started in 1989. Nowadays, the Town of Gananoque has responsibility for operating the Swing Bridge. It is open as required between May 1st and October 31st between 7:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m., and on standby on weekends during these months. Currently, the bridge is only opened 5 – 6 times per year—generally at the start and close of the boating season to allow larger craft to pass. The bridge still operates with its original hand-cranked mechanism. It takes two people about 20 minutes to open the bridge. The bridge is part of the River Loop in the Gananoque Walking Trails.

Our 'Then & Now”' series unveils the rich tapestry of South Eastern Ontario's historical landmarks and buildings, all waiting to be discovered on your travels. Delve into the intriguing stories behind these iconic structures and the vibrant communities they call home.

Written by Ginette-Guy Mayer; her interest as a writer revolves around history, genealogy and women’s stories within those contexts. Now retired, she lives in Cornwall, Ontario, where she volunteers with various heritage, history and genealogical groups. She is the author of the biography Unforgotten Mary Mack, the Elizabeth Grant Mysteries, set in 1930s Cornwall and the DS Henry Stafford Mysteries series, set in 1980s Winchester/Chesterville.   

READ ALSO